I’m back and this time im sticking!

20 Aug

Hello again,

Please don’t be angry I know it has been ages (by ages I mean 2 months) since my last blog post and I am a terrible person for it…I put my hands up and say ‘IM SORRY!!’ – I will try and make sure it doesn’t happen again! It has been a hectic few months with wedding cakes, a new job and a social calendar longer than my arm…but I finally think it’s time for me to tickle those taste buds again and get those recipes rolling! As you know I love your input, let me know if there is something you want to make, let me know if there is a technique you want me to demonstrate or let me know if you’ve tried any recipes J..I love hearing from you guys!

Sticky Toffee pudding, the ultimate self indulgent piece of gorgeousness…honestly this is my favourite slice of heaven and recently I’ve been craving it more and more. Having tasted about a million different recipes I have found the perfect one, the warmth, the sweetness and the sticky toffee trickling through every mouthful makes this a glorious comfort desert, perfect for those wet and windy days we have so many of. Here goes:

 Image

What you need:

Cake:

200g dried dates, stoned and chopped.

250ml black tea (not too strong)

½ tsp bicarbonate of soda

85g softened unsalted butter,

175g self-raising flour

1 tsp mixed spice

175g golden caster sugar

2 eggs, beaten

Toffee sauce:

100g light muscovado sugar

100g unsalted butter

142ml carton double cream

 

What you do:

  1. 1. Pre-heat the oven to 160C.
  2. 2. Place the dates and tea in a saucepan and bring to the boil. Cook for 3-4 minutes to soften the dates. Stir in the bicarbonate of soda.
  3. Beat the butter and caster sugar together until they are pale and creamy.
  4. Beat in the eggs (one at a time), then add the flour and mixed spice.
  5. Fold in the date mixture and pour into a buttered cake tin.
  6. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until the top is just firm to touch.
  7. While the cake’s in the oven and the aroma swirls around the kitchen, make the sauce!!
    Put the sugar, butter and cream in a pan over a low heat and simmer until the sugar has dissolved. Cook until the sauce is a lovely toffee colour.
  8. Cut the pudding into squares and serve with the warm sauce and a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
    Pop your feet up and enjoy

Image

 

I know that this recipe is slightly different to a quick Madera put I promise you that tiny bit of extra effort makes this pudding a magical mouthful!

 

Keep it delicious! x

 

Leave a Reply

